Gorzynski: “I Leave No Regret on the Field”

Matt Gorzynski, a sophomore attack-man from South Brunswick, NJ, is all about the feels when he opens up. Gorzynski, or “Gorzy” as his teammates call him, just wants to have a good time when he’s on the field. Although he is a transfer-student, and thus is a fresh addition to the team, it’s safe to assume he’s already getting it.

As the two of us talk it up, Gorzynski reflects on his coaches, his teammates, his mindset, and a certain person who has helped him to get to where he is today.

12764424_1688381268114466_1019959319503132328_o

Matt Gorzynski likes to keep it humble.

I’m always out there trying to have a good time. I’m not a big fan of school. I’m not a big fan of schoolwork. But, when I get on the lacrosse field, it’s all fun and games.-Gorzynski

 

Q. What kind of culture did you have up in South Brunswick?

A. “My original career started in North Brunswick because South Brunswick didn’t have a recreational program. That was my fourth grade-year. Then once I hit fifth grade, South Brunswick started to get their own youth program, so, that’s really when South Brunswick youth started. Since then, we’ve really grown a lot. I’ve played through middle school, and we had a youth middle school team all the way up through high school. We’ve had some great coaches in the past. Actually, in high school, I went through three coaches in three years. Which was kind of rough but not too bad. I’ve learned a lot through all of them. It’s been a good ride.”

Q. Was lacrosse a big deal in your family?

A. “Oh yeah, definitely, my brother, that’s where I first learned about it. He played, and he’s two years older than me and so he’s the reason I first picked up a stick. Since then, I’ve just loved it a lot.”

Q. If you weren’t playing lacrosse, what do you think you’d be playing?

A.“Oh man, I don’t know. I originally played football in like pop-warner, so nothing too serious. I stopped that in sixth grade. I played ice hockey in high school, but I wasn’t the best. I had fun but I wasn’t too good. I don’t know where I’d be. I’d probably still be playing baseball, and so, I’m pretty thankful that I’m not.”

Q. Did you know all along that you were going to be playing at Rowan?

A. “No, actually, I’m a transfer-student. Coming out of high school, I went to Duquesne University, which is in Pittsburg. I tried to get some kind of lacrosse team, like a club team there, but it wasn’t working out as far as I could see, and I just wanted to play right away. I didn’t want to have to build it up. I’d rather just get down to it. So, I transferred from there, the spring of my freshman year. I wounded up going to Middlesex College, but I also helped out with the youth program back at South Brunswick. I also helped out with the high school team there. I just do it when I can to stay a part of the game and then, once fall came around, I was here at Rowan.”

Q. How was your transition into college-level lacrosse? How did you manage it with school-work?

A. It’s not too bad, I think it being a club sport, it’s not too much of a hassle. There’s still some down-time. It’s not too serious to the point where I feel overwhelmed or anything. We do a good job of managing-in practice-times. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t mind having more practices but you know sometimes, you just can’t do that. But with we have going on now, it’s perfectly fine. We’re never overwhelmed. It works well.”

Q. What do you think is the most fun part of being part of this team?

A. “Definitely just being a part of the guys again, you know I miss that. Having the comradery with everyone. Just being able to hang out with the guys not only on the field and creating that chemistry, but also off the field and spending time with everyone. It’s something special; you can’t ever forget it.”

Q. When you’re playing attack, what do you usually expect from the other team’s defenders?

A. “It’s not really something you can plan for on attack. Just more adapt. You got to adapt to whatever they’re doing and just kind of figure it out. If you got the slowest guy playing you, you got to beat him with speed. If you got the fastest guy playing you, you got to beat him with skill. It’s just something you got to grow up to. You can’t just go in expecting. You have to learn on the job. Learn on the fly. We’ve done a good job as far as that, in any game we’ve played.”

Q. So, you’ve never been tempted to underestimate somebody or overestimate somebody?

A. “No, you can definitely never underestimate somebody. Overestimating isn’t too bad, because at least then, you’re going in prepared. But underestimating is something you never want to do. Especially at the college level. Because you never know who’s going to come out and surprise you. You just can’t have that.”

Q. What would be one word to describe your style of play?

A. “I’d say “fun.” You know, I’m always out there trying to have a good time. I’m not a big fan of school. I’m not a big fan of schoolwork. But, when I get on the lacrosse field, it’s all fun and games. I just want to live in the moment and just enjoy every second of being on the field; being a part of the team. So, yeah, I just leave no regret on the field.”

Q. What’s the best piece of advice a coach has ever given you?

A. “Every coach has put something on me, whether it’s athletically, or just mentally. I don’t even know. It’s tough to say.”

Q. If you could meet any professional lacrosse player, who would you meet and why?

A. “That’s also kind of tough, because lacrosse isn’t exactly as big of a sport as I think it should be or could be really. There’s been a lot of great players. If I had to pick a coach I’d want to meet, it’d be John Denowski, the coach at Duke, I think he does a great job. In one season, you can definitely see the progression that his players have. I like to watch them start to finish. He always builds a team, and know, they have a rocky start at the beginning but every time, you see them in the final four and championship. I don’t know, that’s something special to watch.”

Q. What person has influenced you most in college-level lacrosse?

A. “Ryan Fisher. He was always someone I could always go to throughout this whole process. He’s been part on the field and off the field. He’s helped me with becoming part of this school and becoming part of this team, because me coming as a sophomore, you don’t really have that opportunity. You have that whole introductory phase and I think he’s been great as far as him just helping out with everything. With him being from the same town, we both came from South Brunswick, so, knew each other going in. It’s just been incredibly helpful to have him.”

Leave a Reply

